cash back at closing?

i’m just getting started with investing and i was told by a mortgage officer that cash back at closing is illegal… I know people do it all the time though… I’m confused if she just misunderstood what i meant, or is it actually illegal?

Kristin

Your mortgage officer doesn’t know what she’s talking about!!! I’d find another one!

Mike

If you are the buyer of a property then you are not allowed to have a check cut to you through escrow at the closing of a property. This is just not allowed by the lenders.

Investors who get cash back on their purchases come to agreements with the seller that, when the property closes, they will write you a personal check. This is the only way I have ever seen it done. Again, if you try to have money sent directly to you through the closing the loan will be denied or you simply will not have the money transferred.

That is simply not correct. I have gotten a check from the bank at closing on many occasions. Small, local banks do this all the time. The key is to buy at a big discount and then borrow at a low LTV (70% or less). You can get the difference between the purchase price and the 70% LTV at closing (directly from the bank). It is not illegal or prohibited by the banks.

Mike

I think im still a little confused. This is the situatuion im looking at… I want to purchase a duplex that is listed at 36,000. It needs about 5 to 10 grand in repairs. The SEV’s are 42,000, so i’m thinking that after repairs it will be worth about 80-85k. So i would like to make an offer on the propery aroung 26,000, but get a motgage for 50,000. Then i will have enough money to complete all the repairs and a little extra that i can use for future deals.

Is it possible for me to do this legally through a mortgage company or small bank, or will i need to do a side deal directly through the seller?