Carry Back and Owner Financing?

I have what appears to be a motivated seller for a duplex going for about $185k. The rents pass the “1% rule of thumb”… I would buy this strictly as an investment and would not be living in the duplex - since it is out of state anyway. The owner is an investor and may be interested in creative financing. What options do I have?

Do you think the owner carrying a second mortgage would be in my interest? If so, how much would be reasonable, 10% or 20%? What are the true benefits for me to do this?

What exactly is the 1% rule of thumb? Havent heard of that one yet…

Hi there,

Well, I’m new to investing… But I’ve been told that if the rent made up at least 1% of the price of the property that it was a deal worth considering. Property = $185k. Rent collects $2k a month. 1% = 1,850.

Not to say that this is the only thing to consider, but it was mentioned as a good rule of thumb on considering a rental property.

It would benefit you if you couldn’t recieve a second.

The 1% rule typically applies to median SFH. If you have lower priced housing, then you can usually get more than 1% for rent, but if you have higher priced housing, you may not get 1%. Typically, you can get more than 1% for multi-family housing as well.

Wilson

Thanks, I didn’t know that! Actually, as it turns out the property is much better off with no owner financing. I got the cost down $10k, and with the estimated rent I would make $300 positive cash flow after all expenses.

I worry though, since I am out of state… how much rent I will get… The place is vacant so I would need to fill it. Anyone know how to get good rent estimates when out of town? Internet doesn’t help since it’s a duplex and there are no properties in the neighborhood that compare… ug, it’s always something to worry about!!!

ok,
The first place to start is call a property management firm local the the duplex. most will be free with the average rental rate for the area.