Can I Offer the Bank Less Than My Original Offer?

Well, you can tell I’m a total newb at this, haha. I have an offer on a property that just had the bpo done. The person doing the bpo told me how “scared” they were to go to this property and that the bpo would probably come in less than the contract price I submitted to the bank. Can I go back to the bank and offer them less? Should I wait for the bank to come back and say they’ve accepted my first offer and then tell them I want to offer less? Should I tell them I want to offer less before they get back to me? The bpo will be submitted to the bank on Monday and I’m a bit concerned about them realizing I know the bpo came in low and that I’m changing my offer because of that. Thoughts?

I am assuming that ALL your offers have an inspection clause that allows you to withdraw from the contract offer if the inspection does not validate the value of your offer. If you don’t do that, you probably want to in the future.

Withdrawing the offer and giving a valid reason could work fine, but it is difficult to advise without seeing your paperwork.

Remember, there are endless sources of banks with way too many defaulted loans. They need you to buy more than you need one particular property as this one.

Check your paperwork and withdraw your offer if it is a bad deal. Make another offer with the right numbers…if it doesn’t work, just go to the next deal. Every offer will not become a deal!

Rob

Hello and good to meet you…

Why is your offer so high in the first place… Always begin at 50cents on the dollar… You can always go up… However now just resubmit…

Good luck

Michael

Here’s my deal:

homeowner owes $51,000
bank offer is $22,000
Have cash buyer anxious to close at $49,900