Can I Bird Dog?

Bird Dog newbie here with some questions.

Currently, I am a senior Finance major at UNLV. I live in Las Vegas and my emphasis is is REI and appraisal. I really did not even hear of bird dogging until recently. This seems like something I want to do to get into the REI field.

My most basic understanding of what a bird dog does is find homes that are underpriced compared to sales comps. Then find buyers and collect a referral fee. Is this done with flat fees or %?

First off, how do I start doing this? Do you need to be licensed or anything? If not can I just start researching and contacting buyers? Also, where do you all get comps of recently sold houses? Also are there any other kind of buyers beside the We Buy Houses people, people you meet at REI clubs, or from the newspapers?

Thanks in advance for any reply.

Also, what about the e-book Barry Grimes sells on this website on Real Estate Jobbing? Is this something I should purchase?

I’ve just started to do this myself after purchasing the e-book from Barry Grimes. I think the book itself is great and answers most of the questions that you’re asking. From what I understand, you can negotiate either a flat fee or a %. It’s mostly up to you. A good place to start looking at comps would be the public records for your county if you have at least the addresses of homes that have sold or the general area. The Bird dog e-book has some great info on this subject. It was a good purchase for me.

Anyone can bird dog, simply find your buyers FIRST, then find homes, then put the two together for profit. Its far from rocket science.

I have the Barry Grimes course and I think it is definitely worth the small investment. Lots of good content.

Topaz

Thanks for your input.

This seems to be right in my mind. Except when you find buyers what do you do? In my mind it seems like you have to ask them what kind of houses they want right?