CA vs NV LLC?

I’m going to be investing in a venture which will have CA sourced income so I was thinking of forming an LLC in California. I have never done business in CA before, so this is new to me.

As far as I can tell, CA charges $70. A managing member is located in CA, so I don’t need a registered agent.

If I go with NV, I will have to pay $75 + registered agent + $70 to do business in CA anyway.

I’m wondering what the annual fees for each state are and if anyone has additional information I may be missing. I know the NV laws are better for privacy, etc, but that might be ok if its significantly cheaper. Thanks in advance.

CA has rather punitive state taxes, and the minimum annual franchise tax is $800. These taxes will apply even if your entity is domiciled in NV, as CA imposes tax on businesses that operate in CA, not just those domiciled there.

True privacy, in the real world, is difficult to attain. Banks, title companies, credit card companies, everyone exchanges information these days.

i agree with previous poster

nevada has its advantages but the whole idea of “absolute” privacy and tax protection in nevada is a bit over sold by people making money from selling products to “protect” you

taxes and asset protection are complicated, in my experience debt against property is one of the biggest protectors of a real estate asset, in most locations a recorded mortgage will trump a creditors claim against real estate

as far as taxes, if you make money on real estate, use it to leverage your way into more, if someday you have to pay a bunch of taxes, consider yourself lucky that the real estate projects went well

(just my opinion)

I’m thick headed so explain this to me like I’m 2…so in your opinion it would be best just to set it up in CA?

Good question as i may have rambled a bit in my answer, so ill ramble a bit more.