Buying Out of Your Area

Hello, my name is Mouse-House. This is my first posting. To stat, a little about me:

-I am a toal rookie.
-I have never owned a home.
-I have very little money and I don’t make a lot from my job.
-I have just a few thousand bucks in the bank.
-Brace yourself, I filed for chapter 7 bankruptcy a couple of months ago.
-To make my situation even more difficult, I live in Silicon Valley, not exactly a cheap area.
-I’m 29 years old.

Although I just filed for bankruptcy, I had been fighting very hard to try and pay-off my credit cards for years, until my car broke down. That was the end of the line. I had to get another car and file or stop showing-up to my low paying, yet steady job of 8 years. I’m not bitchin’ and complaing and I don’t want your sympathy. I just want want realistic answers to the question I’m about to ask.

Buying income propery in San Jose or even in California (because of the prices) seems like an unrealistic goal. But, does anyone think a person in my situation could get into a situation to pull a positive cash flow from a property in say Texas or Arizona? Does anyone think I’m dreamin’ and think I should think of another way to make some bucks? Go ahead. Give it to me straight!

I don’t know your area…

But, you need to start there first…

There are always ways to exploit deals… Where you are…

The grass isnt greener elsewhere…

Once you get some experience… then venture out…

David Alexander

Mouse-House,

I do know you area. It is like my area, San Diego. People are buying fixers at full retail. Houses get bid up above asking. (I know San Jose is a bit different due to the dot com fall-out, but housing is still insane.) Sure there are people finding deals here, but they have the funds to advertise over long periods of time.