Buying Out of State Apt Buildings

Does anyone have experience buying out of state apartment buildings? I’ve been looking at properties that are in a different region of the country, but with much better cap rates. I’m looking at 30+ unit buildings so that a property management firm would handle day to day operations. I’m wondering about things I should be aware of or look out for.

Thanks,

JT

Did one for a client? Have you seen the property? Is this on contract. Money down, credit, DCR , rent rol etc.

Great question. You are entering into difficult waters–not impossible or even dangerous, but certainly not ideal. Location with a smaller complex like you are talking about is one of the most important factors, and you simply will not know another market like the one you live in. Cap rates are a very poor way of comparing the future value of income properties, despite what textbooks say (take it from me I have been doing this for over fifteen years now). I can make an income statement look like you will want to buy a property if I can position the timing properly, and you may or may not even know if you are focused on the cap rate.

So… I would suggest that you focus on the properties in your area where you can create value, and leave the cap rates up to people that like to shop for assets in the 6-8% IRR range. Those are sucker investments–if you have that kind of money put it into a CD, they are paying over 6% now.

If you are still bent on investing money in a “foreign market” (out of your area of immediate expertise), you need to vet the candidates and get a competent broker, check his/her credentials, and make them pull together a list of prospect properties and analyze all of them on paper. Then go visit the ones that look promising. I did this for three REIT’s for about six years on office, hotel, Sr. Housing, and industrial properties, and there is a very predictable system for analysis and diligence that works.

Glad to help further if I can.