Buying in low income areas

I’m just getting started in investing and am going to look at some properties next week. I’ve read the valuation techniques such as the 2%/50 rule and the Hooch method, but I’ve got another question. How do you handle deferred maintenance such as a roof that needs to be replaced in a year or two or kitchen appliances that are on their last legs? These expenses are a large part of the investment when you are talking about <50k properties.

So if I’m using the Hooch method and in it for the long hall 10+ years do I care about these issues or do I know that if I estimate 50% gross rents for expenses that everything will work out in the long run.

Next ?. What are the tricks of the trade for preparing a rental for tenants as most of them will be very hard on the property. Semi-gloss paint only?..no carpet?..no vinyl?

Last ?. I would think month to month leases would be the way to go on these properties as a number of tenants will leave before the lease is up anyway. This would give me more say if I wanted to not rent to the same tenant again. What do most of you do?

I would start by meeting a local that is doing the same thing and has been for many years and is obviously successful at it. I learned 10 times more from him than the internet or books.

Just my opinion, I could go on and on with how to deal with low income tenants, but most would be more or less locally to me.

Your post is about buying in low income areas… if you are new and just getting started i believe its better to go out after high rent areas as compared to low income areas…
I ve owned rentals in high rent areas and never had an issue compared to low income where you have to deal with issues…of low income…but to avoid getting burned out buy in areas you know well when starting out then you can branch out later. Before you buy get the deferred maintainance issues taken care of in the beginning .