buying a strip mall(6 unit) north of Tampa, FL

First time poster and long time reader of these forums.

I have been looking at buying a small strip mall for a while now and am being honest, I have no prior experiences dealing with strip malls. Appreciate your responses.

I do own a house free of mortgage and will likely use HELOC to fund the down- payment(30%)

The owner is asking about $300K and the strip mall generates a monthly gross income of $4000.

Owner is not flexible with the asking price but is willing to offer owner financing for about 100K so I have to come up with an additional 100K besides the down-payment.

The strip mall is about 60 years old - built in 1960s and had mom&pop stores and everyone of them have signed a 1 year lease. they probably will not consider signing 5 year leases.

The owner collects base rent and then uses it to pay for property taxes, insurance and general maintainence.

Looking at county records, the strip mall is appraised at 600K.

Total Rent - 4K a month = 48K a year
Property Taxes - 13K
Insurance - 6K
Maintenance - 1K

Gross - 18K

Is this a good investment for long term(am not looking to buy and flip)?

What right questions do I need to ask myself before investing?

The insurance and taxes are horrendous…! Are these numbers ‘average’ for this type and size of property?

In a normal deal, if you’re doing all the maintenance, as in ‘not’ leasing on a triple net basis (NNN), then figure 50% overhead, including vacancy, but before debt service. That’s $24k available for debt service and cash flow.

HOWEVER, your taxes and insurance are so high, it skews the expenses, in actual percentages, to somewhere around 70% of GSI. This means that your NOI is probably more likely to be $14k (rounded down) which drops the CAP rate to about 4.5%