Buy property before it goes to shortsale or foreclosure

I have guy that I know that relocated from washington to florida to take a job and he states that he have a piece of property that he owns that he is extremely upside dow :help on and is in the process of talking with the bank to do a short sale.

I am wondering if there is a way for me to take the loan at the short sale price before it goes to the listings.

The guy is highly motivated to sell is property as well. He states that he is even considering foreclosure as an option.

He states that he bought the property at 200,000 and now it is only worth 60k. How can I buy this property and a long and make it my rental property.

(Note: I am very very very new to the real estate investments. I
currently and have never owned any rental property.)

I have hear several webinars and read many books but am still not sure of what to do. Or should I just wait till it hits the MLS? The guys property is in a prime locations in washington but he states that the rental market is extremely heavy there. He would keep the property as a rental but he states that he is losing $300 every month because his morgage payment is higher then the rent he is able to charge. :banghead

The answer to your question is Yes. You can buy the property at short sale price. However, it may (and most likely) not be at the $60k price.

First thing you need to do is get a real value of the property. Have a Realtor do a comparable (Comps) sales analysis on the property to determine what its current fair market value. Before a bank accepts a short sale they order a BPO (Brokers Price Opinion) which is just a different term for doing Comps analysis.

Next find out from the owner everything about his mortgage. How many mortgages he has on the property (1 or 2); which banks; Exact loan balances; was it an FHA loan?

Then do an inspection of the property do determine any repairs the is required. Bring a contractor and have him give you an itemized list.