Business Plan for New R.E. Investor

Hello,

I am just now beginning to invest in real estate. I am concerned about how to plan successfully for quitting my full-time job. If I quit to early I am worried that I may not be able to obtain financing to purchase investment deals. I’ve heard (and it makes sense) that many lenders will not lend to you without a job, unless they can show that you’ve invested in real estate successfully for two years. I am confident in myself and I know that I will be able to show this. But two years is a long time to stick with a job that I hate. does anyone have any other creative means. I am a beginner so I would need 24 more months of sucessful investing before I am able to apply for financing without a regular salaried job.

I am concerned about how to plan successfully for quitting my full-time job. Simple. Don’t quit.

If I quit to early I am worried that I may not be able to obtain financing to purchase investment deals.
If you quit, period, you may not be able to find conventional financing for your deals. Banks like to see pay stubs. You don’t get that with investing. If investing is your only source of income, then you have to supply your income tax returns to prove income. Besides the problem that I have with showing just anybody my tax returns, if you have a good CPA working for, you should NOT be showing much income (depending on your investing style) due to the tax advantages of owning real estate. Unfortunately, they don’t teach tax return reading to loan officers, so they will think that you don’t make anything.

two years is a long time to stick with a job that I hate. does anyone have any other creative means.
Yes, find something that you don’t hate so much. Many new potential REIer’s see real estate as a means to “quit the day job” or simply “not work.” Real estate is a business and must be run like a business to succeed.