Brand New Real Estate Investor- Any Good Advice?

Hello all,

My name is Ed and I have been a member for a short time and I really like this site as well as REI. I am now ready to move forward with it. Everyone here seems to really down to earth and very knowledgeable about what you do.

I am Brand New in REI and I just bought 2 properties (One will be section 8 and the other already has tenants). I will be closing on the 2nd deal this week but I guess my question is, does anyone have any beginners advice on what to do and what not to do?

I have been reading like crazy and I went in to the first deal knowing a little something about what was going on but beginners need to listen to others that have been in the game and experienced mistakes so I am hear to listen.

If you have any helpful advice for a beginner please feel free to leave some.

Read, study, rinse and repeat (often and lots!)…

Read everything on this site. Ask questions if something doesn’t make sense to you…

Did you have a specific area that you needed advice on?

In general:

(1) Use your common sense…it will keep you out of about 70% of your troubles.

(2) If it smells bad, don’t eat it…oops, I mean don’t buy it.

(3) BE HONEST IN ALL YOUR DEALINGS – treat others as you would want them to treat you – trust me it will pay 10-fold dividends.

(4) Help other REIs

(5) Read, study, read, study, read, study…then do it some more. If your “significant other” doesn’t complain about all of the real estate books, you’r enot reading enough (or you’re a neat freak)…

(6) Know your target areas – know them cold. You won’t know a bargain if you can’t recognize one.

(7) ALWAYS, ALWAYS, ALWAYS cashflow…otherwise, it’s speculation.

(8) Read, study…

(9) Be nice to the NooBies.

(10) Give back to the community when and where you can (this community and your home community, too)