Birdoging

How do you setup a birdoging deal?And how do you prevent getting scammed once you find a deal?Can you do this without putting a contract under assignment?

kimesha,

Birdogging is ok and you will learn in doing so, but don’t get too comfortable or satisfied with it. Try to learn to put deals under contract and wholesale the houses.

Hi mgerchow,

I have just learned something…I didn’t know that birdogging was considered illegal in some states.
How can I find out if it’s illegal in mine? I live in New Jersey.

Also that statement about birdoggers not being sure they will ever get paid? When you refer a potential deal to a rehabber, don’t you sign some sort of contract letting it be known that this contract is being transferred for a fee. Initially the contract is between you and the seller. Then you transfer this or sell this contract for a fee…don’t you?

Bear with me :), I’m still new at this.
eager2learn

eager2learn,

I believe that you are getting confused between birddogging and wholesaling.

A birddog does not sign the contract. He/she merely finds a property that they think the investor might be interested in and gives the investor the information. There is no contract between the seller and the birddog and usually no written contract between the birddog and the investor. The contract is between the seller and the investor. The birddog has to trust the investor to do what he/she said that he/she would do. FYI, birddogging is not legal in most states, but it is real hard to prosecute because there are no written contracts.

A wholesaler signs a contract with the seller to buy the property. He/she then finds an investor that will pay him/her more for the property than what has been offered on the contract and either assigns the contract to the investor or buys the property and sells it to the investor. Wholesaling is legal in all states.

HTH

Wilson

Thanks Wilson,