Birddogging in Michigan - Is it legal?

Hello everyone!!

I am a newbie to REI and excited to be a member of this forum. I’m looking forward to learning a lot from all of you!

My plan of action is to start out as a bird dog, generating leads for investors. This will enable me to learn the business by working with seasoned investors, and, hopefully, to find a good mentor who will help me advance in my career. I already purchased Barry Grimes’ “Jobber 101”, and found it to be extremely helpful and informative.

I then plan to graduate to wholesaling SFH with the final goal of buying and selling SFH and rehabbing them for the retail market and for rental property.

My question is…I have noticed some talk on the forum in regards to the legality of birddogging without an RE license. Does anyone know the law in Michigan? Also, should a newbie, such as myself, contemplate getting an RE license?

Thank You!!

Check with the State licensing agency. http://www.michigan.gov/cis/0,1607,7-154-35299_35414_35475-114980--,00.html

Looks like Bird Dogs may require a license.

Professor,

Glad to meet you.

The local Real Estate Boards impose regulation relevant to the distribution or aid in distribution of a homestead with the intent to protect the consumer (and in some rare cases monopolize the marketplace).

Whether or not this legislation is put into place in a criminal or a civil context, it does appear fairly evident that the enforcement of this legislation would be limited to that of:

a) When a consumer is being blind-sided (ie: you are acting on his or her behalf without proper licensing and steering him/her wrong)

b) You are continuously taking a “fee” for selling real estate.

If you are working with an investor, and you are paid by the investor, who has experience in real estate transactions, and you are not party to that transaction (ie: a consultant) you should, (this is not to be construed as legal advice) be ok, for the following reasons: