Billboard lease/rentals

I’ve searched for forums and internet and haven’t turned up much. I have some land on a major highway and wanted to use some wasted space for a billboard placement. I guess most people try to lease the land to billboard company like Lamar? I wanted to check around before I talked to them. You can also apparently do everything yourself, have one contructed and get local sign companies to put up the vinyl signs. Advertise them for lease. Any ideas?

I am a lease agent for a Florida Billboard company. I can tell you that all you have to do is call around the different companies in your area and see what each of them have to offer you. The business is very competitive and they will bend over backwards to give you the best deal if you are in a good location.

In my opinion, I can say that Lamar is probably one of the worse ones you could do business with for various reasons.

Jaysnder,

I just priced some billboards today. Lamar was almost double the price of the other two companies I checked.
They also demand a one year contract and pay set up fees on the front. The other companies would do six month contracts and add the set up into the payments and were still cheaper than Lamar.

The best price I got on a good location that I had chosen was $450 per month.

My marketing budget is $1500 per month which includes bandit signs, classifieds, direct mail and fliers. My only reservations are spending 1/3 of my budget in one place and I would love for someone who uses billboards to buy houses, to give me feedback on the return on investment.

Tony