Best way to DIY Comps?

What are some ways you guys use to figure your own idea comps?
Thanks in advance.

-Dave

Network & find a Realtor to do it for you.

I use zillow.com for fast and dirty. Comps are not terribly recent. Take heavily salted. Zillow is overpricing homes in one of my markets by 200K.

I have a relationship with a broker and two title agents. They have been invaluable.

My local assessor has an online website that also provides sold comps as well as tax information. That works great for me, even though I’m an agent with access to the MLS, the MLS does not show FSBOs, in which the tax assessor would.

Chase

Try First American Real Estate Solutions. Through a product called “Realquest” they sell comps for $3.50 on a pay as you go program. They also provide unlimited comps in one county for $150/mo, annual subscription required. Sometimes the listings they provide do not have all the property attributes (i.e. bed/bath, square footage, etc). I have to look up the website for the local assessor.

http://www.firstamres.com/

Property appraiser site is good also

Just to add to this. Has anyone ever used http://www.realtor.com?
I am unable to verify either realtor.com or zillow.com comps with what an actual realtor would comp the home.

I took residential and industrial appraisal (university level) though I have never worked as an appraiser. Comps (comparable properties) are exactly that… properties that have sold recently that are (ideally) identical to the subject property and right next door.

If this is obvious to you please don’t feel insulted… got to start somewhere.