Being a weichet realtor and a real estate investor is breaking federal law

My broker says it’s violation of federal law for me to have signs that do not state that I am a weichert realtor.

she also says that I cannot as an investment group LLC and weichert realtors. She considers that being licensed in two places.

My and two partners are working together as real estate investors. We find deal and split the profits three ways.

I am also a realtor with weichet realtors in alexandria va.

I am not aware that I have broke any laws federally, disclosure or otherwise.

If anyone knows more about this it would be very helpful. I am going to try and talk to the weichert lawyers on monday as my broker is not a real estate lawyer.

Any thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated.

thanks,
abdul

The broker should cite the statute, case law, or regulation that led her to that conclusion. I’m not sure a real estate lawyer is the best place to ask. I would ask the government agency that regulates your license for their opinion. Those are the folks who will pursue any case against you.

If you are the owner of a property - or a principal, and you have a RE License, you are mandated to disclose this. the reason for this is you have hadspecific training and licensing - and you have an “agent’s requirement for transparency” to let everyone know in the transaction that one party is a licensed real estate agent. this includes all advertising - newspaper ads, signage, whatever. The specific requirements vary within local jurisdictions - although something like “Agent-Owner” is normally acceptable. Check with your licensing board for specifics for your state.