Beginner Investor - Foreclosure Questions

Hello! A friend and I are going to invest in a foreclosed house, I’m currently a newbie and I’m still researching but am still unclear of the process. We have never owned a home, currently have car payments and credit scores around 600… I have a few questions to ask about the foreclosure process, I just don’t want to get burned trying to get my foot in the door.

If we plan on buy a foreclosed house that is going for $80,000 – as listed, but is assessed for $100,000, could you give me an idea on how much the downpay and closing costs would be? (general figures for the house amt) Is it possible to have no downpay and only pay for the closing costs?

What type of loan should we go for since this is for investment purposes?

To my knowledge, we need to Pre-qualify for the loan, can this done for over the amt of the house? IE, house is $80k, can we get $90k pre-qualify and use it all on the cost of the house?

After we pre-qualify – we select a house we would like to purchase, and then have an appraisal done to the house, correct? I’m a little foggy on what happens afterwards… can anyone lend their advise? It is greatly appreciated for any help!

You should find a lender that is familiar with rehab loans (I’m assuming that the house needs work since you say it is listed for $20k less than it’s assessed value). They can give you the figures you are looking for as far as down payment and closing costs. Also, you may want to find an agent in your area that has experience with REO properties. They can help answer any questions you have including what the value of the house will be once it is repaired.

If we plan on buy a foreclosed house that is going for $80,000 – as listed, but is assessed for $100,000, could you give me an idea on how much the downpay and closing costs would be? (general figures for the house amt) Is it possible to have no downpay and only pay for the closing costs?