Assume the mortgage or...

So my mother-in-law has gotten herself in a sticky situation we’re looking for the best thing to do. She can no longer afford to pay her mortgage. She has a house built in '02 (prefab construction) by a lake in a resort area of Maine. They bought it for $250k cash. Since then her husband passed and she took out some equity. Her equity loan has a balance of 138k and the payment is $800/month.

The idea is for her to sign the house over to my wife and I, and my wife’s brother. We would share the mortgage cost then when my MIL passes we would have this house to rent, sell, or use as a vacation home. My idea is to keep her current mortgage and just make the payments.

Any other ideas for this situation? I don’t like the idea of having $400 out of pocket every month, but it won’t break us.

Thanks,

Mike

I’m not a tax expert but believe if she deeds the house to you now you will be assuming not only her mortgage but also her cost basis in the house, say $250k. In the future should you decide to sell the property any gain will be calculated using this cost basis. If on the other hand you simply loan her money to pay her mortgage, perhaps even secured by a 2nd mortgage on the property, when she passes and your wife inherits the house the cost basis will be the market value on the date of her passing. This of course could be substantially higher than the current $250k basis and thus reduce your tax burden should you eventually sell the property. One other strike against your plan, not that it is a bad plan, is nothing ruins family relationships more than financial/real estate dealings. What will you do when you get tired of paying the mortgage and want out of the deal? Or when you inherit the property and your brother in law feels he was shorted on the whole transaction? Can get pretty messy.