Are there such thing as to many units for a new investor?

I am fairly new to investing in real estate. I have one single family home that I rent which has great renters and very stable. I have begun to purchase a 3 unit home that has been converted which will eleminate my savings but the owner has another house with 4 units across the street for sale also. He would drop the price considerably if I purchased the two, however I dont have the cash and they need quite a bit of work before being able to be rented. The owner has offered a lease to buy option with the second property. having to deal with contractors and the suprises of remodeling what advice would a person have for me in regards to this deal?

Just for starters, you need to figure out what are your carrying costs–monthly costs–while the units are there vacant and waiting for rehabilitation.

That seller should be willing to work with you, as you might be his only buyer.

Once I bought 4 fixer units, only 2 were rented, and those to non-paying tenants. I got the seller to wait 6 months before he got the first payment. There was no deferred interest either. You have to figure out what works for you, not for the seller. Write your own deal.

If you give us information on proposed rents, proposed purchase price, etc. you will get helpful analyses of your transaction from the experienced investors.

Maybe you can also structure it with an option. So you don’t have to tackle more than you can deal with at one time.

Furnishedowner