Are people renting less or more right now?

Hi. I am a beginner RE investor. I am thinking of buying my first property (a single family home) but I am wondering if it will be harder than normal to find a renter right now. The reason for this is that it is a buyer’s market right now and many people who otherwise would’ve rented can easily buy a home now at a discounted price. Has anyone noticed that it is harder to fill their properties with tenants right now because of this?

Also, are rent prices lower right now to compete with the depressed real estate values of homes? Thanks.

sonriffic,

While the answer to your question varies by market, here in Ohio the rental market has greatly improved. It is a huge buyer’s market here, but that doesn’t mean that people who otherwise would have rented are buying homes. Quite the contrary. Anyone who could have fogged a mirror a year ago has already bought a house, including many who should not have done so. Now, interest rates are up and lending practices have tightened. There is a huge wave of foreclosures pending and there is a glut of inventory on the market. Prices are headed down and sales are EXTREMELY slow! People are losing their homes and are once again becoming renters.

So, at least in my little corner of Ohio, the rental market has greatly improved. The tenant pool is much better than a year ago. I am almost at full occupancy and rents are up!

Mike

Mike,

Wow! What a thorough answer. Very encouraging.