apartments cash flowing

There is a property I was looking at priced at $875,000. It was appraised at $1,200,000 and that was with a 25% occupancy. The building was previously used for several businesse offices. The zoing was changed to residential (multi family). The building was originally built as an apartent complex.
32 of the units currently need rehab. Which the estimated cost totalling $166,000. The average rent is $600 dollars. It is a 54 unit complex. Here is my question. What questions should I be asking the owner and how do I figure what this building can possibly cashflow a month.
I have plenty of experience in residental but not multifamily. How do I determine what would be a good investment and cover my debts and still allow me to cash flow. I have a basic knowledge and understanding of multifamily but I want to know more!

ask for financials. on a commercial deal they would typically expect to provide them.

the math works pretty much the same as SFH.

you have to have cash to get in to the deal; typically 20%, but I’ve seen 90/10 deals, plus cash to do the rehab and carry the note until you have tenants.

units x avg rent x occupancy = revenue
operating, mgmt fees, taxes, insurance, repairs = expense

revenue - expense = NOI. bank wants to see NOI coverage of debt service at least = 1.25

you probably want to see more than that if you expect to make money.

don’t forget repair/replacement reserves. all your stuff will break about the same time…

You need to do a lot of homework, but considering what you have stated - actually not much from the landlord.