Anyone with experience offering cash to assume mortgage?

Hi - I have spent a lot of time lurking on this site and I have learned more than I ever thought so thank you all very much!

I know a “friend of a friend” who seems to be very successful and I learned he offers payments to folks who are facing foreclosure and he assumes their mortgages. Apparently he has a network of people who refer him to the homeowners and he then negotiates with the homeowner.

It seems like a win/win because the homeowner walks away with some money in what must seem like a dire situation and this guy assumes the mortgage and can rent out the property. Obviously there is a lot of homework to do on the properties to see if the numbers make sense, but my question is does anyone have experience doing this and anything you can share would be really helpful.

I have been a student of real estate for two years now learning the market in my area and I am finally ready to get off the sideline and acquire some property.

Thank you in advance!

Issue: Whomever is telling you that they are ‘assuming mortgages’ probably doesn’t understand what exactly is going on. There’s no such thing as ‘assumable’ mortgages.’ Plus there’s no point in doing that. After the bank qualifies you, you might as well take out a new loan, because the rate and terms on the old loan won’t survive an assumption in today’s market. Again, what would be the point?

Most likely, your friend of a friend, is taking over the payments on defaulted loans that he’s bringing current. Or perhaps doing ‘that,’ and getting the deed in the process. That would be called “taking title, subject to a defaulted loan,” or a “subject to” financing transaction.

Issue: If you want to be successful doing the same thing, then you’re gonna need to study this guy, and find out what he knows.

Chances are, he’s doing a LOT more than what meets the eye, and the learning curve, if not the investment of operating capital will be steep.