Any way to buy this 4-plex with no cash out of pocket?

I have an owner of a 4-plex, fully rented, income is $1900 per month. He will sell for 95k (appraised value) or possibly less.

Is there any way to structure this so I could buy it without cash out of pocket? I’m new to MFHs. He said as long as the underlying loan of 80k is paid off, he would consider taking back a second for the rest. Any creative ideas?

Yes, there are a LOT of ways to buy this with no money out of your pocket. You could buy it sub-2, with a lease option, via owner financing, via bank financing with an owner 2nd, with money from a friend or 3rd party investor, etc, etc, etc.

However, if the owner wants his mortgage paid off at closing, then your options are diminished. Have you been to some banks to see what you can borrow?

Good Luck,

Mike

I guess I want to know how likely it is for a bank to let him take back $16k for the 20% down, and then finance the 80k.

You’ll never know unless you ask the bank!!!

Mike

100% CLTV (combined loan to value) is a more difficult product to find. Especially these dayz…

Good Luck!

I’m not so sure about this comment. Maybe where he invests or his bankers don’t like to see this, I don’t know. My bankers will do 80/20 all day long. Go to the bank and ask them, this should be a good deal to get into for you. Good luck.

I dont have the experience the others have but I think buying anything with no money is a bad idea…UNLESS you have a nice fat back up account with a good amount of cash in it…

Real Estate takes money to get started…It takes money after you buy also…The worst possible scenario you would put yourself in for a first deal is a default position…You buy this 4 family and 2 furnaces go and you need a new roof and 2 kitchens you are done…