ANY SUGGESTIONS FOR FIRST ATTEMPT

hello to all!
i’ve found two properties that i am going to make a move on, both from investors that attend the club i have joined. i have not formally met them as of yet. here is what they are offering in florida where i reside:

1. 3/1, 1203 sq ft, 1955 block, no work needed, $165k, $185k arv. listed as “discounted retail”.

2. 3 story townhome, 3/3.5/2, 3300 sq ft, needs carpet, assignable “sub2” contract $290k, $325k arv, will rent at $2500 per month, has boat dock on canal leading to lake.

i plan to call them today (thurs 14 april) to determine if this is a possibility for me, here are my concerns:

1. they may have seen me at the rei meetings (we avg about 125 weekly) but i’m sure they don’t know that i’m a novice, how should i approach them?

2. i haven’t got all my “ducks” in a row as of yet. i’m still looking for an attorney, title company, appraisor, inspector and state specific contracts (is there anything else?). IF i can work out a deal with one or both, would it be acceptable to use their “ducks”? how should i ask?

3. i’ve come a long way in roughly a month but due to time constraints (JOB, other responsibilities, i’m sure you understand) i haven’t gotten around to filing a dba just yet. i’m going to try and get this done asap. is it mandatory that i have this before i sign my first deal?

4. from the info that i have provided does anyone think these would be a good start for me?

for property #1 i’m thinking along the lines of a L/O.
for property #2 i’m not sure yet, any suggestions?

thanks in advance!

I’m just starting out too (just closed on my first property) and don’t have any real expertise. However, I would be real skeptical about getting a “good deal” from another investor. If it was a good deal, they’d probably hold on to it. Just my toughts…

GoodMorning Almodesto,