Analyzing a Deal

Hello All,

I’m also new to wholesaling. I’ve put two homes thus far under contract and was unable to get a buyer for either one (thank god for exit strategies). I’m about to put another home under contract, and I was hoping to get some feedback from an investor why this may be a good or bad deal. I’m thinking I may be doing something wrong in an evaluating a deal. Here are the specifics (BTW: This is in Los Angeles, CA)

ARV: $355,000
Selling Price: $245,750 (65% + 15,000- assignment fee)

Expenses: $35,500 (estimated costs of closing costs, holding costs, selling costs)- Basically, I just took 10% of the ARV

Repairs: $20,000 (estimate)

Estimated Profit: $53,750

Again, I do realize all deals have the potential of being a good deal if you have an investor to buy it, I just want to make sure I’m evaluating a deal correctly.

Shi’Mere

Assuming your numbers are correct, a true investor would not pay more than $225,000 for this property. Add in the fact that most of CA is declining in value and I doubt that they’ll pay that.

Raj

For an investor this is a horrible deal

Most investors will buy at 65% MINUS carrying and repair costs and your fee. Some investors might have gone 70% a year ago, but with the current market, not many. You are doing it 65% PLUS $15k PLUS your fee PLUS repair and carrying costs. So actually you are signing it up at an 86% of FMV.

You have it at 86% FMV

Investors want 70% or LOWER, preferably 65%

For a good deal you should structure at:

$350k ARV
$227k 65% of ARV
-$55.5k rehab and carrying cost
$171.5 Target purchase price

THEN MINUS YOUR ASSIGNMENT FEE

So your target price (if you want an $15k assignment fee) will be:

$156.5k

Generally speaking if you have a “deal” you will have a buyer. You can save yourself time/energy if you know exactly what your investor/buyers are looking for and willing to pay for his/her deals.

Chris