Am I in trouble?

I am a newbie to this field. I read the book “The Pre-foreclosure Investor’s kit”. I think it is was a very well written and informative book by Thomas Lucier.

Based on the advice in the book, I subscribed to data provider and sent out my first letter from the book. However I have lost the night’s sleep.
Some of the data provided is not current and up to date. Yesterday I received a call from an attorney, saying that his client is current on his loan and I freaked him out by sending such a letter, and that I should write him a letter of apology. I did as advised.

However today another attorney called me and said I had no right to contact his clients and write such a letter to them. He even read out some parts of the letter and said that I was being outrageous. He asked me if I was a real estate attorney. I said no. I then extended my apologies to him and said I will call his client and apologize. He mentioned that I should not try to communicate to his client and I should direct all my communication through him. So I asked him to extend my apologies to his client. He said he will be sending me a letter anyway.

I am very worried as to what kind of letter it might be. From your experiences do you think I could have violated any law by writing such a letter? What is the worst case scenario? What can I expect? I am very worried. I response from any of you would be helpful. I live in NJ.

How many letters did you send out? The responses have only been from counsel of people who were in pre forcloser?

Just a guess here, but I suspect the attorney’s are BK attorney’s and clients are passing the correspondence to them.

Legal ramifications I couldn’t tell you, but I am curious to find out what happens. Myself I am looking for pre-forcloser properties.

Good Luck

what did your letters say?