Am I being unrealistic?

Hi folks!
I am a newbie investor putting in my 1st offer today. I have been working with a new realestate agent, who has been great about showing us properties as well as pulling comps, etc… Just as I expected (and told her) her boss called me and told me what I am planning to offer is ridiculous and that she contacted the listing agent for the REO and HE said don’t even bother to bring the offer as the bank won’t even respond to it. I kind of expected the listing agent to not admit that the price HE has the property listed at is way too high, but I still feel a little shaken (as does my RE agent). Here are the numbers, am I being unrealistic, or do banks actually take these kinds of offers.

listed price $124,000
ARV $123,000
70% $86100
costs (HML, rehab, holding, $36,000
closing, etc…)

My max offer is $50,000

My starting offer is $40,000

Is the realtor just being difficult? or am I being unrealistic

Thanks in advance
Rick

The manager of the office/broker is only looking out for their commission and is probably concerned that both the office and this new agent are not going to get anywhere near what they expected if your offer is accepted.

Perhaps there is “another way to skin this cat”. Some suggestions might be to raise your offering price (some) but ask for attractive financing and maybe a moritorium on payments or interest only payments for the rehab period.

Another approach might be to look to a grant or grants to make the improvements. - Or, you might combine both of these ideas.

My suggestions are only to give you a couple of other tools besides a low-ball price as ways to reach your goals with this property. After all, when you go to sell the property, one of the considerations will be the capital gains on the low-ball price. So, pay now or pay later!

Just some food for thought.
VickyS