Advice

I’ve recently signed up for one of those mentorship programs that primarily deals in sub2, owner finance, options, lease options etc. However I find that even when I read the information I’ve been given and look on the internet for simpler explanations I read them but for some reason can’t seem to get my head around what’s actually going on. Are there any websites that lay out what sub2, owner finance, options and lease options all mean and how they work in layman’s terms or could someone here either direct me to or write out a good description or definition of what each one is and how it works?

I do all these for a living and I think the first thing to keep in mind is that each of these methods involves creative finance in one way or another.

They either…

1. Facilitate financing…
  2. Allow time to justify getting financing, or…
  3. Allow time to obtain financing.

Meantime, Sub2 is first a “financing” tool, before it’s an investing strategy.

Leases/Options are generally used to control real estate, while giving the Optionee/tenant/buyer first right of refusal in the purchase. That is, the Optionor/seller/landlord cannot sell his property to anyone else, until the Optionee/tenant/buyer walks away from the deal.

Sub2 involves…

1. Buyer taking title to a property with full ownership and control.
  2. Buyer assuming informal responsibility for the loan.

Lease/Options…

1. Gives Optionee/tenant/buyer exclusive control of a property, without ownership, or liability, for a given period of time…
  2. Obligates Optionee/tenant/buyer to make rent payments (and sometimes option consideration) for a given period of time…in return for the right to control the property…
  3. Gives Optionee/tenant/buyer the exclusive right to buy the property, within a specific period of time…

Options…