Advice on where to begin? I am eager to learn

I am a 20 year old student with $40k in cash on my hands, a solid monthly income, and a solid job as an engineer after I graduate. I think it’s good sense to start small in the Real Estate business in order to learn the ropes. I am looking to purchase a house in the ever-growing suburb I grew up in, rent it out, holding onto it as it appreciates. It was hit hard by the housing crash, and just like everywhere else prices are comparatively low. I don’t know a thing about any forms I’d have to fill out, taxes I’ll have to pay, and what my obligations are as a landlord; it’s fairly overwhelming, but I’d like to do as much as I can by myself to save the money it would take to have a licensed real estate agent do it for me.

The property is out of the state I currently live in; as of now, I’m a dependent under my parents.

Any advice/opinions/general knowledge would be appreciated!

You don’t save any money by not using a real estate agent. When you buy, the seller pays the real estate commission so it does not cost you anything to have someone with expertise in the real estate industry guide you through your first purchase. Your agent will know which forms to use, will guide you in making a fair offer, and even point you toward lenders that will finance your purchase.

Since the property is out of state, you will probably want to have a professional property management company working for you. Professional property managers know the landlord tenant law, have leases that conform to the state law, have the tools to market your property, and know how to screen your tenants. If your proprety needs repairs, the management company knows which contractors in the area do the best work. The property managment company also knows their way around the courthouse should you need to evict your tenant.