Advice on a multi-unit property

I am looking at different multi-unit properties that are 2-4 units in the 300K range. I came across one with the below calculations and would like your input as I am new to this.

Asking Price: 300K
Effective Gross Income: 42,300 assuming 5% vacancy and 1% bad debt
Operating Expenses: 11,600
NOI: 30,700
Debt Service: 16,200

My thought from reading other posts here and the great advice from a lot of you is that the expenses seem low. I have read that they are usually between 45 and 55 percent which if so would eat up the cash flow.

Let me know what you think. Thanks.

We need your actual Gross Scheduled Income to start the analysis, not the ‘effective income’. Starting with an “effective income” will screw the analysis six ways from Sunday.

So, what is the actual, scheduled income?

Combine your “vacancy and credit losses” into one figure, not 5% vacancy and 1% “bad debt.” Otherwise, it’s confusing. A credit loss ‘is’ a bad debt.

I have no idea if your NOI is actual or “effective.”

Making broad assumptions since I’ve got time here to guess…

$300,000 Asking Price
$ 90,000 Down Payment (30%)
$210,000 Balance Owed
$ 1,350 Monthly Payment (6.67% 30-years, fully amortized)

$ 44,838 Gross Scheduled Income (Adjusted to compensate for “effective” figure)
<$ 2,538> Less Vacancy and Credit Loss (6% including 1% “bad debt”)
$ 42,300 Gross Effective Income

<$ 11,600> Less Expenses (27.5% of GSI)
$ 30,700 Equals Net Operating Income (66.5% of GSI)
<$ 16,200> Less Debt Service
$ 14,500 Equals Cash Flow Before Taxes

CAP RATE: 10.23%
Cash-on-Cash Return: 16.2%

If these figures are reliable, this would be a good deal. The issue I have is not knowing the age, construction (flat roof, brick/siding, galvanized plumbing, common utilities, actual physical condition and occupancy rate).