Advice for my father

Hello everyone

I read and check this forum from time to time, probably for a couple years I guess. I have a few rental properties, but really I’m just a beginner. I know very little compared to you guys that do this professionally.

So I thought I’d run a question by you. My dad retired from a career of 28 years 4 years ago. He left this job because he hated the new owners. He immediately got a new job doing similar work but at a pretty significant pay cut. At the time I guess he thought it wasn’t that big of a difference, well, that and he just really didn’t use to care about money or finances. He’s getting closer to retirement age now, and is starting to realize he really needs to make some more money soon, maybe for another decade or so now.

Im really wanting to help him get into real estate, maybe even full time. He has a decent 401k leftover from his previous career. And I’m trying to convince him to use it to invest in a multi-family complex that he could just maintain himself(very very handy fellow) and maybe have the same cash flow as his job is paying him now.

I’m also trying to convince him to help me start flipping homes. But he just doesnt seem to believe he can make any money :confused:

What do guys think about using 401k retirement money for investing in real estate?

What course of action would you suggest to your dad?

Thanks!

Hi,

I understand and believe that social security will not be available to me until I am in my 70's, however I probable will not need my benefits and because I love my work I expect to still be working well into my eighties! Of course I am planning on living until I am at least 200 or 250 years old! LOL 

I highly recommend to new investors to work wholesaling as it takes very little money to operate and get started.