Accurate comps?

Newbie here,

What is the most effective way to get accurate comps?

good realtor

be sure to get SALES comps, and not just comparative listings. those are about worthless.

Thanks mcwagner,

Is it common for realtors to be asked for a list of sales comps?
Also, do realtors commonly give out mls info?

very… i get comps from my agent almost daily w/ no problem

I have heard people using sites like MyCastle and Zillow. MyCastle seems to be better than the two. I have not seen good numbers come out of Zillow.
As a realtor, I suppose I should always suggest using a realtor, but at least in the Dallas/Fort Worth area, I have a number of investors that use MyCastle to get some of their comps. It certainly has its quirks, but most of the non-MLS sites will. The trick is finding real comps within the area specified. If you comps come from the other side of a major road or freeway, they may not be accurate because the neighborhood can drastically change from one side of the road to the other. It’s the whole “wrong side of the tracks theory.”
Realtors can obviously pull comps for folks, but in all fairness, they will want the hope of getting future business. I pull comps for some investors, but they will commonly utilize my services as an inspector instead of as an agent.
I have two investors in particular that I pull comps for all the time. I have pulled a number of comps for them, but every time they put a contract on a house, they hire me to perform the inspection on it. It’s a win-win for all of us, so I have no problem pulling comps for them whenever they need it.

Good luck.

Lee

Just curious, but I looked at Mycastle and saw plenty of listings, but when getting a loan and trying to judge an investment, don’t you need to see past closed sales? I know an agent can provide this, but is there a place to find past sales online, or did I just miss it on that site? :slight_smile: