Absentee Owner's List

Hello All,
I’m a newbie investor starting to get involved in wholesaling properties. I have started building a buyer’s list and now want to begin mailing letters out to absentee owners in parts of New Jersey. I have called some tax assessor’s offices and everyone I speak to doesn’t know what I mean by obtaining absentee owner’s lists. If they have heard of it, they brush me off and say something like “Oh…that’s gotta be illegal or something”. I had the same problem with finding out section 8 property owners…people were telling me that it had to be illegal. I am looking for any information that will help me obtain these absentee owner’s lists. I know they are not for free, and I also know there are some websites that can give you this information. But before I start spending money on websites, I want to know if they are giving me up to date and accurate information. Any information will help. Thanks.

Hi.
The most accurate source for absentee owner lists (in TX at least) is
The program most Realtors use to access county tax records.

When I built my list of absentee owners, (1,200names) it took all of 5 minutes.

In the program we use, (tempo) there’s an advanced search option that allows me to pull ALL properties in austin with out of state owners. The response rate (hand written letters asking: would you consider selling you property? 2 BUSINESS CARDS!!! not one. not 3. 2!!) will be tremendous if you…
-Handwrite the letters
-include 2 business cards
-include a 1-800 # if you can. I wouldn’t recommend spending countless hours writing and stuffing letters without a 1-800#.