About to buy first home...

Hi everyone. I’m in the process of trying to purchase my first investment home but am getting scared about all the news reports on tv, in particular the fact there is this talk about sub-prime lending. However, since I’m an engineer by trade, I’m not sure what to make of it. There are several websites out there that report incredible findings like http://www.homebust.com. I remember once hearing that real estate can and never has gone down. True?

One of the most important things to remember is you make your money when you “buy”. It’s all about finding the right deals.

Gloom and doom. He he he

Run for the hills! We’re all doooooomed.

Weenie,

If you go in with a level head and your eyes wide open, you won’t have a problem. For a beginner, I would say:

(1) Don’t put a large % down, especially if you have to do it to be able to cashflow. Limit your out-of-pocket and leverage where you can.

(2) Don’t use adjustable or gimmick mortgages. When these adjust, trust me, it won’t be in your favor.

(3) Do good cashflow analyses on you properties before ourchasing; Make sure there’s a cashflow.

(4) Put your profits where you can get to them if/when you need them (“reserves”) – don’t spend all of your profits.

It’s not ‘rocket science’ but it takes some time, some planning, and some patience…

Keith

Before you buy, MAKE sure you are getting a real deal…That means doing your due diligence…Don’t trust agents, most don’t have a clue…