A REAL newbie

Hello everyone. Right now, I live in long island new york and in about a month I will be moving to charlotte, north carolina. I am 34 years old. I would like to get into the glorious world of real estate investing. I have zero experience. I dont own a house(the average house on long island is $500k) and I have never purchased real estate. I can honestly say that I am totally new. I have read e-books, regular books, spent alot of time in this sight reading articles for beginners. When I get to north carolina, I plan on joining the reia there(i didnt even know they existed until a couple of weeks ago when I started my research.)
Here is my situation. I really dont have money (i will have a good job though when i go down) or good credit. I have no experience doing a transaction. Can someone like me make money without the credit or money? I just need some really good advice. I dont mind hard work and im willing to sacrifice to make great money, I just dont know where or how to begin. I read some newbies on here doing their first transaction, but i wouldnt even know where to begin to do a first transaction. I would really appreciate some good, sound advice from you experienced people (or even newbies who have done a deal or 2) Thanks everyone.

Adam,

The truth is that it does take either money or good credit (preferrably both) to make money in real estate. ALL businesses require money and/or credit to succeed - and real estate investing is a BUSINESS.

However, you seem to be ahead of many newbies in that you have a general plan. Joining the REIA in North Carolina is an excellent idea. Having a good job in North Carolina will be a big help.

Since you need money to get started, I’d suggest trying to find a successful investor to work for. You could work your regular job and then work for the investor on the side. This way, you’ll accumulate some money; you can pay your bills and improve your credit; and you’ll learn about the real estate business.