A real new wannabe investor tottaly confussed!

I studied Carlton Sheets course 3 times… I pretty much memorized the techniques… Like I’ve read, in 1970 these probably worked wonderfully. I am having a hard time putting what I learned using his course to work in the real world. I am 19 years old, I go to school for entrepreneurial studies at JWU in Providence, RI. I need some guidance from real life real estate investors on where to turn for further information on pursuing this as a career/lifestyle. Is there a recommended course out there that is better suited for today’s market then Carleton Sheets? Where did you all start at the very beginning of your real estate investing life? I appreciate all who respond!!!

Christopher

There is not 1 be all end all real estate course.

Different gurus specialize in different real estate venus. You can go review them at www.realestatecoursereviews.com for further research on each guru.

I honestly believe everyone starting out needs to start out doing the easiest deal possible:

drive around looking for vacant / ugly houses
track the owners down
negotiate deal
flip contract to another investor for a few thousand

Use those few thousands to buy some courses.

I said this before on an earlier post today. Learn as much as you can as inexpensively as you can. All the free articles on this site are loaded with info on the basics. Grasping the basics on all the different ways to buy and sell a property is key; lease optioning, subject to financing deals, assigning contracts, etc. As you learn more, you’ll discover which method your most interested in as well as which will work best in your market.

Chris, before spending any money you should narrow your focus and decide just what specific strategy/technique you want to learn to get started as an investor. You can’t be all things to all sellers right out of the box. You’ll end up more confused than ever and remain on the sidelines because of fear.