A question about deposit

Hello everyone I am a newbie wholesaler. My question is what type of deposit am I looking at on an assignment of contract or option to assign? I have been told by investors they offer 10-25$ for 60 days, while just today i read a book that said minimum 1000$. I hope someone can shed some light on this for me. Thank you

Howdy Reekay10:

I just did a duplex and a house for $500 each that cost less than $20,000. Thursday I made an offer on a $165,000 commercial building and got it approved with $500 as well. You may try less like $250 or even $100 but less is just foolish. I have heard of $10 but how serious does an offer of ten bucks sound? Not much

Well it is my under my impression that i should be finding the sellers who NEED to sell, so they wouldnt mind if i put 1 dollar on the contract if i was telling them i can buy their house for so and so

Then why does so much of the material on the Internet talk about $10 deposits when doing wholesaling? I’ve seen it in many different places. To me, it sound rediculous and quite frankly would be pretty embarrased to even offer such a low amount, like they wouldn’t take me seriously. But, the scary thing is, if I put $500 or so done and the deal falls through, that’s a lot of money for nothing. Any other thoughts on this??

I believe that the minimum is $10 because legally purchase contracts have to have something in them about “$10 fair and something consideration.” It’s about the “consideration” - something has to be given to bind the contract and I do think that legally it has to be at least $10.
It’s in Bronchick’s Flipping Properties book; I don’t have it in front of me right now.

I don’t think anyone understood your question. I am a wholesaler in Florida.