A Newbie Game Plan

My wife and I went to “Learn to be Rich” seminar back in May. We learned all of the different routes that one can take in real estate, as well as, information on each route to get you started. We decided that we would start with wholesaling to raise some capital. Following the seminar, we put 1 property under contract and cancelled it and almost put three others under contract. However, after talking with some seasoned investors, we decided not to go forward with the deal. Since then nothing has really happened except for reading and studying real estate articles and thinking about what we need to do.

After much contemplation, we decided that because our credit score is extremely low (530’s), we need to work on getting our credit score up before we move further. Also, we are moving in three weeks to different state, as I am a teacher be trade. I haven’t had full time work for two years. Now that I have a full time position starting in the fall, we will have a steady income coming in to work on getting those debts paid off and our credit score up. We will still look for deals along the way, but know that the better we make a financial situation, the better we can land a deal with some liquid cash. We are moving into a market that has TONS of foreclosures and REO’s. I feel that after we get our credit situation straigthened out, we can focus on our ability to find private money lenders or HML. I read an article on this site from a HML stating that because of the position of the economy, HML are looking at the borrower as well as the deal.

So…sound like a plan??? :biggrin

Sounds like a VERY GOOD PLAN to me. Get your credit straightened out first and then start on REI!

Good Luck,

Mike

It’s a beginning. Search through these posts for “Advice to Newbies” thread by fdjake. Then you need to get your plan ON PAPER with a time line.