A little short sale help....

Hey there,

I’m just starting out with my investing buisness, I found a great short sale home, with a good ARV. I want to use a hard money lender for my funding and have a good lender on my team. Will banks except offers or work with you if you are using a hard money lender to fund the deal?

Thanks for any help, reading all the posts on these forums has really helped me already!

• Kristen

All you need to do is give about $1000 EM to the Realtor to start the short sale. The bank could care less where the funds come. Make sure your lender is ready to fund as soon as the bank accept your offer.

In my farm, our MLS is populated with ‘backup’ short sales which have been going on for months. Even the short sales with a ‘firm’ trustee sale date aren’t really viable, as such dates are subject to ‘postponement’, which has happened in a number of my offers, to the extent that I have now eliminated short sales from the process until I can find an inside track to bank finance officers who can make direct decisions. Otherwise, it’s throwing a ton of darts at a dartboard and hoping one will stick. As a cash buyer, that’s a waste of my money and time. Trustee sales and REO’s have proven to be a better, though not perfect by any means, bet.

My advice: Put some strong time limit terms in the short sale addendum and leave contingencies to walk away from the deal and tie up a bunch of deals. Maybe one of them will stick. Also, consider the ramifications of re-upping your pre-qual/DU findings. We expired those a few times back when 6-12 month execution times were common. Check into that aspect to see how it works now. Back then, a tri-merge would hit the FICO each time, knocking it down some due to the hard inquiry. Perhaps that has changed.