a free Deed deal

I came across this ad online, a woman is giving out her deed on the house for free. she had a huge problem with her tenants. they live there and dont pay rents, and somehow (strangely) kicked the owner out of the house.
she wrote a sad story about it, and it was pretty devastating.

however, i need more information to work on this deal. I am a total noob and not so good at asking the right questions. All i know so far is that her name is the only name on the title, she is willing to give it to anyone for free. the house was under power of sale and it seems as if she stopped it by filing bankruptcy. i am not sure of the details. if I get it i need to evict the occupants right now.

i need to find out the details tomorrow. i will probably go meet her. She lives far away.
so question is, what do i need to do for preparation? i don’t even have a RE lawyer yet. do i need to find one first?

more info…apparently she is out of the house for 1 year or so now. the house is free and clear when she was kicked out. and she doesnt know who has been making the tax payment all this time.

Get the house on contract and then find out how much is owed on taxes. When you close on the property the Title company is going to probably require someone to pay the back taxes in order to get a clean title.

These tenants sound like veteran deadbeats, so if I were a you I’d definitely hire a lawyer for these guys. One of the biggest mistakes new or old investors make is letting tenants walk all over them.

1. Bring a Purchase Agreement
  2. Ask her to bring in a copy of one of her tax stmts so you guys can contact them.
  3. If she signs then contact a Title Company and begin the closing. With no mortgage loan the Title Company can get you closed in 1 week. The Title Company will let you know if there are any liens on the property.

thanks. yah i should bring a Purchase agreement. should i use the ones that realtors use? because i dont have one of my own.