A beginner to real estate investing looking for some help.

Hey everyone,
I am new to real estate investing of course. I want to start ASAP I am young and looking to learn this inside and out. I know the best way to learn is to dive right in. But I don’t want to dive into an empty swimming pool due to lack of knowing what I’m getting into.

#1. What is a good way to start building capital for investments. I’ve heard people say Lease Options, Wholesaling, Mobile Homes… etc. I’ll do whatever it takes. Starting from scratch now.

#2. What is the basic premise of bird dogging?

#3. What are good ways to learn about REI and get experience without buying properties. I’ve found reading this forum to be one.

#4. What are some pitfalls inexperienced investors run in to.

thanks for your input and love this forum.

Jordan

reading forums and joining your local real estate investing club is definetly a smart way to start learning. Try to read as many posts as you can.

One of the most common pitfalls for a new investor is getting involved in a deal and losing money due to underestimating repair costs or not having a property inspected properly.

In respect to what the premise of birddogging is…it is probably the best way to learn real estate investing without risk (or spending money). In essence you find properties for investors and they pay you a finders fee of 500-1,000s per property. It is a good way to get a free mentor because you can watch them work deals.

Read about the different types of investing and think about which one or two your most interested in. Focus learning more about that particular type of investing.

Jordan, count me in the Lease Option camp. For beginners, I don’t think there is a better way to begin. They are safe and don’t require out of pocket cash from you.

Jordan,