7 units not penciling out

Newbie here, and ran across a deal. Initially I thought it looked good, but seems to be falling short:

7 units
Listed at $290k
Was thinking of coming in at $275k

$275k x 25% down = $206k loan @ 7.49% 30yr = $1438/mo. Debt Service

GOI = $3725/mo.
x50% rule = $1862/mo. NOI

• $1438/mo. DS
    $424/mo. cash flow or about $60 per door

There is an unused storage room that can be converted into a laundry room, but, I would think that would be max $200/mo. extra.

Thoughts?

What’s the GSI?

Figure that out and then subtract the current vacancy factor (or assume one), and then you can calculate the GOI. GOI’s are NOT the starting place when analyzing investments. That will require assumptions that may throw all your numbers off. Start with the Gross Scheduled Income (GSI).

That is, start with what the total rental income is scheduled to be… Everything else falls from that number.

Use this form below to analyze this deal, and 100 more, before you pull the trigger on something like this. This way, you can be your own expert at evaluating income property.

Just saying

http://jaypalmquist.com/images/real-estate-analysis-form.png

Yes, my fault then. The GSI is $3725 (fully occupied currently), so minus 10% vacancy factor the GOI is $3353/mo.

[list]OK, good we got the GSI established.

If the vacancy is 10%, then the rents, by all measures are too high.

We need to be at 5%, on a rolling average. On seven units this can be somewhat hard to measure. However, for a working analysis and negotiations, 10% is conservative.

If you are not paying utilities, except for water, and the building is not older than 1970, you can safely assume the expenses are 50% including the 10% vacancy/credit loss factor.

So, with an annualized GSI of $44,700, your NOI should hover around $22,350.

Subtract your scheduled debt service of $17,256, and you’ve got about $5,000 in cash flow.