5 yr future speculation for Landlords

Its a very interesting time in REI. I’ve been doing REI for about 17 yrs, so I’m not as seasoned as some, but definitely not a noob. However I am a firm believer in the ebb & flo of markets, and being raised a surfer in Australia I’m a firm believer that if there are no waves out there to catch today, there will be tomorrow. Its just about positioning yourself.

I haven’t seen the level of ‘silliness’ in the RE market that we’ve had in the past 3 yrs ever. I live in Phoenix, which was proud to boast that it was the #1 fastest growing city in the USA. I’m not sure if that is still the case, but this place got overrun by out of state investors either developing and building new property, or buying anything in sight for fear of a bidding war. It was insane. I made millions in a month just on equity. Of course its all theory, and on paper.

But I don’t really care about equity. That’s a great thing when I retire. But the fact is that I have already retired (somewhat). I look for cashflow. I look for a passive income stream from my investments that is secure and consistent and I can live off it. For me, that’s better than cashing in your 401K and living off that. At least my investments continue to grow in value and continue to pay me back every month. The amount of time I have to invest in being a landlord is about 5% of what I have to invest in a job, so I’m pretty happy.

Now I want to look ahead 5 yrs. With some clarity and objectivity. Not like some over hungry journalist looking to break some BS story about the US being responsible for the world’s ailments due to the ‘sub-prime fiasco’ and that all US people are greedy and the end of the world is nigh.