4 x $50K homes or 1 $200K home

Hi Everyone,

Just reading through all the threads here is a learning tool that’s hard to find. Nothing beats actually doing the deals but learning through your fist hand experience is invaluable–thank you.

I currently have four rental homes that all retail around $250K-$300K per home. I have mortgages on all of them except one that I paid cash for (I said I was a newbie right?)

I have been working hard to soak up all I can on investing in real estate and want to make more investments. Is there an advantage/disadvantage to purchasing 3 x $200K homes (for example) versus 12 x $50K homes from a long term strategy. My plan would be a long term play on the properties.

As a follow-up, am I barking up the wrong tree? With $500K -$600K of cash, should I seriously consider multi family?

I know there are so many variables, just some generalities would help my sharpen my focus a little I guess.

Thank you in advance,

Jake

ps. I am a newbie so please be gentle :biggrin

Hello Jake. With $500k you need to be in multifamly. The advantages are just too great to fool around with individual houses.

Yes, definitely. With multi-family, you compartmentalize your losses when there’s vacancies and/or a tenant trashes an apartment or some other major issue in one or two apartments. And if you negotiate correctly, you can quit your J-O-B working for someone else. Whereas, with a single house, if it’s vacant, you’ve lost all your income for that month until you find someone to rent it.