2nd Morgage Holding Out

I am a real estate agent and an investor. I have done many short sales and have gotten great deals. I am currently working on a deal where I am strictly the re agent. I am negotiating a payoff for the amount that my seller was offered. (He received an offer before I could start the process myself, so I felt I needed to pursue this as an agent instead of an investor.) This should have been a simple short sale. The first was owed $160,000 and the second was owed $37,000. I had an offer at $173,000 and the BPO only came back at $160,000. I received an approval from the first with the stipulation that the second would only receive 10% of what is owed to them which should be $3,700, but the second is refusing to accept anything less than $7,500. I tried to convince them that this will go to foreclosure and they wouldn’t get anything and they said they didn’t care. They said they will just go after the homeowner for a deficiency judgment. Does anyone know a way to get around this or convince them otherwise?

Explain to the 2nd that $3,700 in hand now is far more valuable than $0 and a bunch of attorney’s fees only to get a piece of paper saying judgement. The difference between your offer, $3,700, and their demand for $7,500 is so small. They will spend more than this difference in attorney’s fees just trying to get a judgement.

There is a way to get around this and meet the 1st’s requirement of only 10% to the 2nd showing on the HUD, AND satisfy the 2nd…IF your buyer is willing to do it.

The fact that your BPO came in at $160k should allow you to negotiate the 1st down to a minimum of about $131,200 NET to them and get it accepted. Since your buyer is at $173k, you won’t need to got anywhere near that low.