1099 and deficiency judgement

Hi.
I am trying to short sale a property and the woman is scared of the tax implications. My question is…

In my contract i ask the bank to put in writing that they will waive their right to a deficiency judgement. But if they do this do they still send her a 1099 for the difference?

She owes 90,000 and I am planning on getting the property between 70,000-75,000. So I am wondering if she will have to pay taxes on the extra 20,000 even if they waive their right???

And if they do have the right how many times have people had that they actually do it?

Can i write in the contract that they also waive their right to send a 1099?

Thanks
I hope this is the right forum, i’m new to this. And this is my first short sale so i dont have all the answers to give to the homeowner.

they don’t have a “right” to send a 1099 that they can waive. It’s an IRS “requirement”.

forgiven debt is taxable.

Okay, forgive me i’m am so new at this.

So they can waive their right to a deficiency judgement but have to file the 1099 because it is an IRS thing?

I’ve heard you are great with advice so i’m glad you are the one that responded.

THis is my first short sale so i am trying to answer all of her questions correctly. This is a deal i’ve been waiting for for almost 3 months and I dont want to lose it. ITs a lady with 2 houses and doesnt owe much. I could basically pay off the loan with the sale of one house and the second would be pure profit. Somewhere around 50,000.

Anyways she just is iffy cause she does not want a lot of taxable income. So if i short sale for 20,000 less than what she owes she will have to pay taxes on that. They were rental properties so she did not live in them, if that makes a difference.

Then I thought maybe i could give her the money to pay what she would have to pay in taxes to pacify her? I’m not sure if that is legal?