100% Financing ?

Hi everybody. I’m a newbie looking to purchase sfh for rentals. My problem is my wife and I don’t have cash. I have 50k that I can borrow from my 401k and we have a 50k HELOC. Our credit scores are 780-805. Are owner non occupied 100% loans a feasible option? Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Yes, noo 100% financing is still a possibilty.

What is the rate/terms of your HELOC. While 100% is available you MAY be better off using the HELOC for part of the purchase money.

I would absolutely recommend looking at using your heloc. Some helocs have the ability to fix in portions of the amounts drawn. National City has the option.

It sounds like these are your first properties so you should be able to use normal conventional financing at 90% and have terrific rates.

I can take a loan out of my 401K at 50k 5yrs 8.5% My heloc can be converted to a fixed loan up to 20yrs. I can fix any $ amount up to 50k 3 times in the next 2+yrs. I believe the rate today was 8.75%

I’d recommend consulting with your financial advisor about taking money out of the 401K.

My personal opinion is that those funds should be left there for retirement. Those funds are already making money for you.

The equity in your home is “dead equity” and not making you any thing.

You don’t have to use your 401K or your 50K LOC. If your credit is good you can borrow 100% (assuming your debt to income ratio is less than 50%) in an 80% loan at about 7.9% and a 20% at about 10.2%. Keep your assets as a buffer so you wont be stuck in a bind making late payments.

Where is the property? how much are you planning to spend?

You should do the 100% on the NOO or use your HELOC. I do not reccommend touching the 401k unless you really have to.