Does the formula to buy apply to new homes too?

Hi there,

It is so happy to find you here, and give my greetings to you all :banana .

I am reading the posts. They are interesting and helpful, thanks you very much indeed.

From one of Stacy’s, it says the formula to buy is 70% of ARV minus repairs = purchase price, and I am wondering if this applies to new homes too.

I am new to the investment and about to buy a new home in Northwest Austin, and the deal dosen’t meet the ‘70% of ARV’ Buying Criteria :hammer .

Stacy’s rule is kind of universal when buying distressed real estate and reselling. It would not apply to property bought from the builder unless he is in distress. I am pretty much sure that you can get a good deal from builders such as low rates, buy downs, free upgrades but you will not see any at 70% of their value. If you do get me a dozen or two also. Hope i helped answer your question. I feel it is still agreat time to buy with rates still low and lots of inventory to choose from. We are also at the end of the best time of year and when it gets cold out there will also be even as good or better deals.

Thank you,

Ted P. Stokely Jr
11505 Sw Oaks
Austin, Texas 78737

512-301-9171 home
512-587-6177 mobile

Thanks a lot, Ted.

I will definitely get you ‘a dozen or two’ when I get 70% deal from builders, well, perhaps, we may target a builder for such a deal, ha, (have to find a builder who is in distress first, of course) :dance2 .

I guess you do more resale properties than new homes, don’t you?

Thanks again,
Tracey