General Contractors or Subcontractors

Hello, good day to all viewing this post, my inquiry is in regards to the rehab process and contractor selection.

1. Do you hire specialized contractors for each section of the property that requires rehabbing?
    Example: You hire the electrician for week 1, roofers for week 2 and plumbers week 3

Or

Do you hire a general contractor and he/she will be responsible for either performing the entire rehab work or he/she will disseminate the work to the subcontractors(electrician, plumbers, etc.)

Thank you for reviewing this post

Hi,
I am still learning this, as I am starting out my first rehab project. I am using one general rehab guy because he has a turn key system that works. I think this way one person (my rehab guy) is held accountable to stay on schedule (time is money) and on budget! Otherwise, unless you are experienced with this kind of thing and have all the contacts in place, you will be running yourself ragged trying to micro-manage the project when you could be out finding more deals!
Hope this helps, I’ll let you know how it goes! ::slight_smile:

Hello Wealthinvestigator,

This depends entirely upon who you can find. Are you prepared to be your own General? Gathering bids from subs can be extremely time consuming. If you have a contractor (or can find one) you trust and plan on having them coordinate all your work – that is a great way to go. Fully understanding part of your profit is going to the General.

I do a lot of my work myself. Painting, fixture installations (including toilets), and landscaping, I do myself, so for me it’s better to higher subs to do the rest.

With all that said, I recently found a General I like to work with who lets me do my part and he takes care of the rest for me – especially where it concerns termite and/or moisture damage issues. What I like about him is we discuss at the beginning of the job what he will take care of and what I plan on doing. We work well together.